Operation Smile: Restoring children's smiles

Another key project at Sheen Hok Charitable Foundation is to provide free surgeries for underprivileged children in China who suffer from facial deformities (cleft lip and palate) in collaboration with Operation Smile.

Operation Smile is an international children’s medical charity that heals children’s smiles, forever changing their lives. As an international charity for children, Operation Smile mobilises a force of medical professionals and caring hearts who provide safe, effective reconstructive surgery for children born with facial deformities.

Dr. William (Bill) P. Magee Jr., a leading plastic and craniofacial surgeon, co-founded Operation Smile in 1982 with his wife, Kathleen S. Magee. In 1991, Operation Smile came to China to provide services and invited Prof. Alice Chiu Tsang Hok Wan to be the fundraising chair and help establish Operation Smile China Medical Mission, which has provided nearly 30,000 free cleft surgeries to date.。

As one of the most prominent charities for children in the world and with a presence in over 80 countries, Operation Smile is able to heal children’s smiles and bring hope for a better future.

微笑行動:讓孩子們重拾笑容

善學慈善基金的一個重要項目是為“微笑行動”籌款, 所籌得善款將協助推動“微笑行動” 在中國的農村地區組織更多醫療行動,讓更多内地患有兔唇的小朋友可以接受免費的唇腭裂糾正手術。

現時每三分鐘便有一名患有唇裂或腭裂的嬰兒出生,大部份長大後不能正常地進食、說話、參與社交、甚至微笑。在某些地區,這些兒童會被排擠及遺棄,但大部份的個案中,父母都不能負擔龐大的手術費用,令孩子們過正常的生活。因此微笑行動參與救緩的初衷,並成為提供這類手術醫療服務的主要團體之一。

美國權威的整形外科醫生和顱面外科醫生,馬基醫生和他的妻子1982年聯合創辦微笑行動。1991年,微笑行動來到中國提供服務,並邀請趙曾學韞教授擔任微笑行動中國基金的創辦籌款會主席,迄今已為約30,000名小朋友提供免費唇裂手術。

微笑行動是目前為兒童服務的重要團體之一。在全球超過80個國家為病童重拾笑容,並為他們的將來重燃希望。